New Year…Better Me…One Day at a Time

Happy 2014!  This year, I will move more. This year, I will eat mindfully. I will reach a milestone birthday (ending in zero) feeling and looking better – and have the “stats” to make myself and my doctor happy.

I will take time for ME!  I’ll read and crochet and garden – activities that make me happy. I will keep my mind active by learning new things. I will nurture my relationships and create new ones.

I will take time for US!  As empty-nesters, we can plan fun activities and be active together – whether it is traveling or improving our home and yard.

Movement…a “Fitbit” is on its way to me and I will let it aid me in increasing my activity level. A nice bonus…it will help me move towards a better amount of sleep. Meanwhile, I’ll better advantage of my gym membership and my library of exercise DVDs while the cold temps and winds keep me indoors. Today’s movement – Leslie Sansone’s Walk Slim (2 miles).

I’m determined to eat the best food possible and to cut out the grains and other junk that have contributed to my present state of fluffiness and weariness.  I will plan so we can eat self-prepared, minimally processed food as often as possible, and I will make better choices when we eat out or I travel. If I can’t pronounce the ingredients on the package, I won’t eat it – and I’ll strive to eat more unpackaged and unprocessed foods. Taking advantage of the wealth of resources on the web and in books, I’ll log and share our meals along the way -

Breakfast

Instant Cinnamon “Oatmeal” #grainfree #paleo

Homemade Sausage Patties

Lunch

Leftover Cheesy Meatball Soup #primal

Mixed Veggie Salad with Balsamic Vinegar and EVOO

Dinner

Slow Cooker Chicken with a Spicy Coconut Cream Sauce served with Cauliflower Rice

Finally, a good thought to begin the New Year…”I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes. Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You’re doing things you’ve never done before, and more importantly, you’re Doing Something.”
—Neil Gaiman

